#421 – You are Bill Gates…

…and you are trying to solve the world’s problems one at a time.  What’s the first thing you are going to tackle?  Why?

When the lights didn’t come on in my office as I walked in, I wasn’t surprised.  I had actually been expecting this.  Calmly, I approached my desk and sat in the chair.  “So…” I said to myself.

A shadow stirred out of the corner of my eye.  I could feel his eyes watching me.  Always was the suspicious sort, but in his line of business that was to be expected.  “It went well.” He simply states.

I smile as I slowly open my top desk drawer.  I need to remind myself not to make any sudden movements.  It’s a hard lesson to learn.  I reach in and pull out a dossier.  “Your next job.” I say as I place it on the desk and slide it towards him.

My mind barely registers him moving, but the file disappears from my desk and he’s back in the shadows.  I hear the soft sound of paper flipping as he looks it over.  “Shouldn’t be a problem.  What’s the time frame?”

“Two days.  Three max.” I reply.  I hear him snort softly.  He never needs the maximum time.  That’s why he’s the best in the business.  “Your pay will be wired as soon as the news breaks.” I state, leaning back in my chair.

He doesn’t say anything.  I know it’s because he’s already gone and I’m sitting alone in my office.  I remain there for a while, maybe an hour, before I finally get up.

The choices I’ve made weigh heavily on me, but I know it’s the right thing to do.  The world is a cruel corrupt place and sometimes you need to make a mess before you can completely clean it up.

At least that’s what I tell myself.

Behind the Random: To be honest, if I was a billionaire, I would less likely be a supervillain than I would be a paranoid shut-in like Howard Hughes.  I would be too afraid of handsome brits in suits or nutjobs in spandex foiling my plans to do anything more nefarious than jaywalk.

In other news, this post marks my 365th consecutive post.  I have done one topic for every day for a year.  This is a major milestone for me, beyond all the others and is the longest I’ve really stuck with a creative project.  So to all those people who have read my stuff and then come back for more, thanks!  And most of all, thanks to my wonderful and supportive wife who got me started on this and pushes me to be better every day, even when I’m grumpy and don’t want to.

Thank you again and tune in tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

