#379 – What is Your Shrink Really Thinking…

…when you tell him about your day, your life, your hopes, your fears?

Eggs.

Can’t forget to pick up eggs after work.  Ellen’ll kill me if I come home without eggs.  “How many times do I have to tell you?” She’ll say to me with that look.  At least once, I suppose.  Heh.  What else should I pick up?  We still have half a jug of milk.  Cheese slices?  Sure, why not.  I think Brian used the last of them for his lunch.

I wonder how Brian did on his test today.  He crammed pretty hard last night.  I don’t know how many times I’ve told him not to leave studying for the last minute but that boy just will not listen.  Why can’t he be more like his sister?  Alison was always studying.  No wonder she got that free ride to university.

She hasn’t called in a while.  Probably a good thing, since that means she doesn’t need money.  I should send her a message after this session, check in and see how things are between her and Patrick.  He’s a good kid, but a little flaky.  I think she could do better.  Do a lot worse too.  Maybe I’m just being overprotective…

Oh yeah, we need to call Dillon Security about that camera.  I should tell Marcy to schedule a maintenance check.  Damn thing hasn’t been working right since that Christmas party last week.  I told Ian not to throw that football inside the office, but no one listens to me.  Just me listening to everybody else.

Oh, is he still going on?  I should probably look interested.  Give a nod or two.  “And how does that make you feel?” Alright, where was I?  Oh right, Ian.  That ignoramus.  The guy makes Dr. Phil seem like a professional.  What a joke.  No wonder half his patients end up institutionalized…

Oh look, the hour is up.  About time.  Just in time to get a drink before my next session.  I’ll go over the notes later.  Always good for a sleep aid.

Now, what was I supposed to get at the store?

Behind the Random: I lead a pretty uneventful life at the moment so I can only imagine how bored an outside observer would be hearing about my life up to date.  Between work, household chores, watching kids, trying to make time with the wife, and sleep, there’s barely enough time to do these prompts let alone get into any sort of shenanigans.  Which is alright, since shenanigans can get expensive, but it doesn’t make for the best stories.

And on that note, we are less than 50 away from the end of the book.  Woo!

One thought on “#379 – What is Your Shrink Really Thinking…

Leave a comment