#416 – Your Worst Experience in a Bar

It was my 21st birthday and I went out with some people I knew to the bar.  I was never a big fan of the bar, especially night clubs but I was young, stupid, and impressionable with no real friends at the time.  So that’s how I found myself at the bar that night, listening to terrible terrible music and watching people trying their best to either get in each others pants or smash in their faces.  At the time, I was the only one employed amongst those in attendance, thus the only one with any money to spend.  So I ended up paying for myself and everyone else, which begs the question of why I agreed to go out even more.  Over time, people began to disappear and within an hour, I found myself alone and broke at this sleazy overpriced bar on my birthday and I wasn’t even drunk.

That kind of soured me on celebrating birthdays for a while.

Behind the Random: There is a silver lining about that night.  While I was wandering around, I ran into the owner who was a regular of mine at the restaurant I worked at.  As a show of appreciation, he bought me a beer and didn’t even know it was my birthday.  Other than that though, it was a pretty disappointing and depressing night.  Sadly though, still not the worst birthday I’ve had…

Leave a comment